Why Are You Crying?

Oh, you’re cutting onions! I don’t blame you. I cry too. By that I mean, my eyes water so bad that I can’t see for about 10 minutes after the cutting is done!!! That is until I learned something about onions. The onion is spraying its little toxins when it gets cut, hence the burning eyes. So, here’s what I do to avoid the tears…I peel off the “paper”, rinse the onion under water, cut off both ends and quickly run everything under the water again. I run it under water after each of the next 2 big cuts and then it’s fine. I haven’t cried in years…at least, not because of an onion;)

3 responses

  1. I heard that it could be because your knives arent sharp enough! It can cause the juices to squirt out more.

    1. It could be. I think I’m just overly sensitive to onions. My husband has no problem with them…can practically rub them in his eyes with no reaction, but I am a mess! LOL!!!

      1. Haha I used to be the same way! It takes some getting used too!

Leave a Reply

The Gardening Corner

JoAnne's tips and tricks for gardening and crafting

Southern Cricut Lady

...a journey of paper exploration and expression

Momisms - My Moments in Motherhood

I want to bring a love of the outdoors and of my beautiful Pacific Northwest to my 3 boys, while managing the crazy that is my life

Glittermoon Vintage Christmas

Recycling memories from Christmas past. Unique designs made from ornaments of yesteryear. With occasional detours just for fun.

Skipping Stars Productions LLC

Bringing FUN to Chandler, Gilbert and Queen Creek AZ

Pretty Messed Up

Sometimes, messy can be pretty...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

